September 7-8
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel, Arlington, VA

Conference Theme

“The Future of Manufacturing – Increased Innovation, Productivity and Value”

Conference Focus

Technological change is creating historic shifts in manufacturing companies … and in the near future this process will accelerate. Technologies such as digitization of everything, the internet of things, advanced robotics, artificial intelligence, machine learning, and developments such as advanced materials and machines are already changing how manufacturers compete and interact.

Advanced technologies will become integral to how companies operate and serve their customers. The possibilities opening up by automation, sensors and connectivity will help boost manufacturing efficiency and reduce production costs. Companies increasingly realize they must embrace technological advancements … or risk disappearing.

But in some industries, the revolution will go further as the boundaries shift between suppliers, producers and consumers and, in some cases, between whole industries. This is already happening and has much further to go.

In some of the new advanced technologies that are emerging — new classes of materials, radically innovative machines, and unprecedented information analytics governing manufacturing methods — we are already witnessing the rapid emergence of new businesses entailing billions of dollars of revenues along with the inevitable rise of major industries that are fabricating the new classes of materials and products and providing the interrelated services. We are in the early days of a major transformation similar to, but even broader than, the trajectory that began a half-century ago with the then-new semiconductor, electronics, and software industries.

As far-reaching as these changes are, it is in their symbiotic combination that we see the emergence of entirely new manufacturing systems. A radical — even revolutionary — restructuring of the very means of production is under way. Sometimes referred to as Industry 4.0 … or the digital or smart factory … or even cybermanufacturing, this transformation is more accurately labeled Manufacturing-as-a-Service (MaaS) and is as deep a shift as was the migration from craft production to mass production over a century ago.

The new era of MaaS production will add trillions of dollars to the U.S. economy and generate millions of new well-paying jobs in manufacturing and allied economic sectors in the years to come.

The disruptions brought about by these innovations are causing individuals with outdated skill sets to lose their jobs. But they are also creating jobs that are more strategic or creative in nature, providing opportunities to those who have the expertise to service or maintain the moving parts of technology’s new machines … or are willing to be flexible and learn new skills.

Discussion Subjects

  • The Coming Revolution of American Manufacturing
  • Disruption and Innovation: Two Sides of the Same Coin
  • The Case for Digital Reinvention
  • Radical Transformation through Technology-driven Innovations: Machines, Materials and Controls
  • Industrial technologies transforming manufacturing and driving growth and sustainability
  • Revolution at the Convergence—Manufacturing as a Service (MaaS)
  • Promoting Growth and Sustainment in Aerospace and Defense SMEs
  • Building a Talented Workforce
  • Cybersecurity for Advanced Manufacturing
  • Measuring Manufacturing Correctly
  • Manufacturing Policy Issues: 2017 and Beyond